## Approved Minutes Utrust Trustee Meeting November 14, 2015

Trustees of the Utrust met November 14, 2015 at the The Listening Room Cafe. Attending the meeting were: Chairman David Jones, Vice Chairman Don Weathers; trustees: Roger Greene, Joey Cooper, Norma Tate, Jasper Taylor, and Regina Waller; Dewey Branstetter, Trust Attorney, staff members: Dr. Dan Tollett, Trust Administrator, Kristi Coleman, Director of Finance & Administration and Dameron Johnson, Communications Specialist.

Chairman David Jones called the meeting to order at 7:45 p.m.

## **Bylaw Changes**

Dr. Tollett stated the intergovernmental agreement changes that were approved at the October 2, 2015 trustee meeting require a change in the bylaws as to how trustees would be elected, include the official name change of Tennessee School Boards Unemployment Compensation Trust to Utrust and to amend Article I, Section 5 to allow for voting to be done by email as follows.

**Section 1. Number and Terms of Trustees**. The Utrust is governed by a board of trustees composed of seven members. Two members shall each be elected by the delegates in each grand division of the state. The seventh member shall be elected at large by all members in the Trust. Such divisions shall be reviewed periodically to assure that no more than a 20% variation in member count shall exist from division to division. Changes may be made by the Trustees as necessary to provide balance.

Members of the Board of Trustees shall serve staggered seven year terms. One trustee shall be elected each year. The term of each Trustee shall be from July I to June 30 and shall be for seven years except that terms may be altered as necessary to achieve these provisions.

**Section 5. Procedures for Election of Trustees**. The Administrator shall cause an election to occur in each division in which a Trustee's term is scheduled to expire. Such election shall be consistent with the Terms of the Intergovernmental Agreement and the bylaws of the Unemployment Compensation Trust. Members of the Board of Trustees shall be eligible for re-election, provided no conflicts in law, the Intergovernmental Agreement or the Trust's bylaws exist.

Each board which is a member of the Trust may designate one voting delegate. If the member fails to designate a voting delegate, the Chairman of the Board of the governing body of the Trust Member shall be the presumed voting delegate. Each voting delegate will receive a ballot for the purpose of voting for a division representative to serve a seven year term on the Board of Trustees. Delegates may vote only for the representative to the Board of Trustees for the division where their entity is located except that all delegates may vote for the at-large member.

The Trust Administrator shall provide an official ballot with the name(s) and a biographical sketch of each nominee to each voting delegate. The ballot must include a date by which the ballot must be received by Utrust and a space for a write-in candidate. The Trust Administrator may use e-mail to conduct the election for the voting delegates . A nominee must receive a majority of the votes cast in order to be elected to the Board of Trustees. If no nominee receives a majority of the votes cast, a runoff election, using the same procedures as described above will be conducted between the top two nominees.

WEATHERS/COOPER:	Motion to approve the bylaw change for trustee terms official name change of Tennessee School Boards Unemployment Trust to Utrust and amend Article I, Section 5 to allow for voting to be done by email.  Motion carried unanimously.
David Iones, Chairman	Dan Tollett, Trust Administrator